These instructions are for importing the Jira Companion in an existing Jira site (one that already contains projects and items). If your site is still empty, you can use the instructions for Importing Jira Companion (new site).

0. Create a backup

Before making changes to an existing Jira site, it is a good idea to create a backup first.

  • Login to Jira as a site administrator
  • Select Settings (⚙) > System
  • In the Import and export section, select Backup manager
  • Under Backup for cloud, select Create backup for cloud
  • Check Include additional files to include issue attachments, user avatars, and project logos in the export

After the backup is complete, select Download backup file and store it in a safe location.

1. Create a temporary site

First, we are going to create a new temporary Jira site in your existing organization (read more about organizations).

  • Go to admin.atlassian.com and select the organization in which your existing Jira site resides
  • From the top menu bar, select Products (you should see your existing Jira site in this list)
  • Click Add product
  • Select New site >
  • Select Jira Software
  • Define name for your new (temporary) site, e.g. temp-2022mmdd
  • Click Agree and start now

2. Importing the projects in the temporary site

Secondly, we are going to import the Jira Companion backup file into the temporary Jira site.

  • Select to Settings (⚙) > Import and export > Import Jira Cloud

As opposed to the recommendation, it is not necessary to split the backup file

  • When prompted what to do with imported user data, choose the third option (this means that any users referenced in the backup file will not be added to your site)
  • Click Import data and upload the provided backup file
  • Importing the backup will take a few minutes

It is not necessary to import media files separately (as they were still included in the backup file)

  • Go to Projects > View all projects to make sure you see the three new projects (Changes, Incidents and Monitoring) are there

3. Migrate the projects into your existing Jira site

Now, we are going to use the cloud-to-cloud migration to replicate the three Jira Companion-projects into your existing Jira site

  • Select Settings (⚙) > System
  • In the Import and export section, select Migrate cloud site
  • Select Migration dashboard
  • Click Create a migration and follow the wizard

The actual migration should not take more than a few minutes, as the Jira Companion contains just the project structures.

4. Importing the automation rules into your existing Jira site

Lastly, the automation rules should be imported into your (production) Jira site.

  • Download and unzip the latest version of the automation rules
  • Select Settings (⚙) > System > Automation > Global automation
  • Select > Import rules
  • Click Upload JSON and select the downloaded .json file
  • Select the four rules and restrict it to the project “Monitoring”
  • Click Next and then Lets’s do this
  • Do not forget to enable the new rules:

5. Remove unnecessary users

When restoring a backup file, Atlassian will automatically add users (that are referenced in the backup, e.g. authors of the content) to your site. While this is harmless in itself (these users do not get product access, nor do they receive invitations) we still recommend you to double check User Management (admin.atlassian.com) and remove these users:

6. Remove the temporary Jira site

Do not forget to remove the temporary Jira site, as you will be billed after the 14 day trial ends!

  • Go to admin.atlassian.com > Products and remove the temporary Jira site

You might also like

All our clients have passed certification the first time.
Join them today!

Order now   Book a demo