Warning

Restoring a backup into an existing Jira site will overwrite all data (projects, items etc). If you want to use preserve this data, refer to Importing Jira Companion in an existing site.

1. Importing the projects

  • Select to Settings (⚙) > Import and export > Import Jira Cloud

As opposed to the recommendation, it is not necessary to split the backup file

  • When prompted what to do with imported user data, choose the third option (this means that any users referenced in the backup file will not be added to your site)
  • Click Import data and upload the provided backup file
  • Importing the backup will take a few minutes

It is not necessary to import media files separately (as they were still included in the backup file)

  • Go to Projects > View all projects to make sure you see the three new projects (Changes, Incidents and Monitoring) are there

2. Importing the automation rules

Lastly, the automation rules should be imported into your (production) Jira site.

  • Download and unzip the latest version of the automation rules
  • Select Settings (⚙) > System > Automation > Global automation
  • Select > Import rules
  • Click Upload JSON and select the downloaded .json file
  • Select the four rules and restrict it to the project “Monitoring”
  • Click Next and then Lets’s do this
  • Do not forget to enable the new rules:

3. Removing unnecessary users

When restoring a backup file, Atlassian will automatically add users (that are referenced in the backup, e.g. authors of the content) to your site. While this is harmless in itself (these users do not get product access, nor do they receive invitations) we still recommend you to double check User Management (admin.atlassian.com) and remove these users:

You might also like

All our clients have passed certification the first time.
Join them today!

Order now   Book a demo